American Pop Corn Company Announces Leadership Transition

A century-old family-owned business based in northwest Iowa that makes Jolly Time Pop Corn is announcing a significant leadership transition aimed at driving future growth.

Following a gathering of the Smith family, who represented the 4th and 5th generations of the American Pop Corn Company ownership, a decision was made to remain family-owned, but strengthen the company’s governance with the introduction of independent members to the Board of Directors for the first time. The American Pop Corn Company has appointed Steve Huisenga as the new President, becoming the first non-family member to assume the President role in the company’s history. Edward Townley has been promoted to Senior Vice President of Operations and Treasurer, with David Sitzmann promoted to Senior VP of Production.

The Smith family reaffirms its commitment to retain complete ownership of the company, with all 11 cousins from the 5th generation dedicated to preserving the family legacy. The leadership transition is effective immediately.

American Pop Corn Company founder Cloid Smith began his popcorn business in the basement of his home in Schaller. The company is currently headquartered in Sioux City.


Local News