BVU Digital Media Students Earn Several ICMA Honors

Buena Vista University students and faculty collected a total of 30 accolades at the Iowa College Media Association conference earlier this month.

BVU is among the Iowa colleges and universities with student media outlets that annually participate in the ICMA student journalism contest, which is judged by radio, newspaper, and television professionals. BVU students earned ten 1st place awards throughout the evening in categories including video news programming, experimental video, long-form audio storytelling, multimedia storytelling, and best air personality.

The full list of BVU digital media department winners from the Iowa College Media Association conference can be found below.


  • First Place—Best Video News Programming: Joshua Tigges “AgriVista: Threshing Together” 
  • First Place—Best Experimental Video: Joshua Tigges “2023 BVU Volleyball Season Hype Video” 
  • Second Place—Best Variety-Music and Comedy Program: Joshua Tigges and Joel Sikora “Ron Strauss at the BVTV Diner”
  • Second Place—Best Video PSA or Promo: SCJ Mentors and Storm Lake High School Students “It’s more than a lake”  
  • Third Place—Best Short Video Documentary: Isaac Stone “Discover Albert City Threshermen”
  • Third Place—Best Video PSA or Promo: Austin West “Buford in the Office”
  • Honorable Mention—Best Variety-Music and Comedy Program: Austin West “The Beaver Playbook 2.27.23” 


  • First Place—Best Air Personality: Joshua Woolcott “Woolcott’s Witching Hour”
  • First Place—Best PSA: Joshua Tigges “The Tractor Apocalypse”
  • First Place—Best Newscast: Colin Imhoff “KBVU News”
  • First Place—Best News Programming: Carter Soyer “Yik Yak: the wild west of social media” 
  • First Place—Best Show: Joshua Tigges and Evan Brincks “Nascar at Night” 
  • First Place—Best Long-form Audio: Colin Imhoff “Supreme Court under public review”
  • Second Place—Best Promo: Joshua Woolcott and Joel Sikora “Anyone can be on the radio” 
  • Second Place—Best Sports Broadcast: Joshua Tigges and Austin West “BVU vs. Coe conference volleyball championship” 
  • Third Place—Best Show: Isaac Stone “Stone’s Shenanigans”
  • Third Place—Best Sports Program: Jaxon VanPelt and Nolan Faber “Travel Day” 
  • Honorable Mention—Best Air Personality: Isaac Stone “Stone’s Shenanigans” 
  • Honorable Mention—Best News Programming: Maureen Murphy “The Covid class”
  • Honorable Mention—Best Show: Carter Soyer “Soyer Saturdays” 
  • Honorable Mention—Best Podcast Series: Carter Soyer “Murders at Camp Willow Creek”

Multimedia and Print/Online:

  • First Place—Best Multimedia Storytelling Package: Carter Soyer “Be brave, be wrong, be creative” 
  • First Place—Best Multimedia Slideshow: Abby Clark “BVU football non-conference v. Gustavus and Lakeland”
  • Second Place—Best Sports Feature Writing: Kosuke Fukuda “Athletes without borders” 
  • Second Place—Best Opinion Writing: Hunter Vasey “Something stinks: the litterbox lie” 
  • Third Place—Best Review: Carter Soyer “I would read this for the first time again if I could” 
  • Honorable Mention—Best Feature Reporting (Writing): Joshua Tigges “Soaring above Storm Lake: Bart’s Flying Service proves crucial to the community” 
  • Honorable Mention—Best Headline Writing: Hunter Vasey “Something stinks: the litterbox lie” 
  • Honorable Mention—Best Multimedia Storytelling Package: Joshua Tigges “2023 volleyball preseason look ahead” 

Major Awards:

  • First Place—First Amendment Award: Joceline Medina for KBVU 97.5 radio “American culture divided by religion” 

Local News