BVU Digital Media Students Earn 33 ICMA Awards

Buena Vista University students earned a total of 33 awards recently at the Iowa College Media Association conference.

BVU attended the conference in Des Moines in-person for the first time since the pandemic. Awards were given to BVU students representing online newspaper, radio, and television.

For the first time since the inception of the awards, a BVU student was named the Student Journalist of the Year. Josh Tigges, a junior Digital Media major from Carroll, was recognized as the state’s top collegiate journalist for outstanding contributions to student media leadership.

BVU students earned ten first-place awards throughout the evening in categories such as headline writing, opinion writing, photography, podcasting, multimedia story telling, best on-air personality, and more. KBVU was named the collegiate Radio Station of the Year for the 4th year in a row.

More from the Iowa College Media Association conference, including the full list of BVU winners, are listed below.


2nd Place—Best Video Newscast: Joshua Tigges, Joshua Woolcott, Austin West, Cody Holtgrewe,

2nd Place—Best Video News Programming: Joshua Tigges

2nd Place—Best Entertainment Storytelling: Joshua Tigges

2nd Place—Best Variety Music/Comedy Video: Colin Imhoff

2nd Place—Best Video Sportscast: Isaac Stone, BVTV Crew

3rd Place—Best Video Promo or PSA: Isaac Stone, Joshua Tigges, Carter Soyer, Jadyn Forbes, Joceline Medina, Lauren McCoy

Honorable Mention—Best News, Public Affairs, Sports: Joshua Tigges, Joshua Woolcott

Honorable Mention —Best Sportscasting: Joshua Tigges, BVTV Crew

Honorable Mention —Best Corporate Video: Joshua Woolcott


1st Place—Best Air Personality: Joshua Woolcott “Woolcott’s Witching Hour”

1st Place—Best Promo: Joshua Tigges “Lights, Cars, Action”

1st Place—Best PSA: Joshua Tigges “Texting & Driving PSA”

1st Place—Best Radio Show: Joshua Woolcott, Joshua Tigges “Just Joshing”

1st Place—Best Long Form Audio: Joceline Medina “Divided by Law”

1st Place—Best Podcast: Joshua Woolcott “Z.E.O. Episode 1”

2nd Place—Best PSA: Joceline Medina “Dangers of College Alcoholism”

2nd Place—Best Show (Entertainment): Joshua Tigges, Evan Brincks “Nascar at Night”

2nd Place—Best Sports Program: Austin West, Nicola Veltri, Max Olsan “Sports on the Edge”

2nd Place—Best Audio Feature: Joshua Woolcott “Virtual Reality & the Future of Technology”

2nd Place—Best Long Form Audio: Joshua Tigges “The Great Retirement”

2nd Place—Best Podcast: Joshua Tigges “The Positive Point”

3rd Place—Best News Programming: Colin Imhoff “KBVU News 10-6-2022”

3rd Place—Best Sports Broadcast: Joshua Tigges, Evan Brincks, Lauren McCoy “BVU v. Dubuque VB”

3rd Place—Best Long Form Audio: Colin Imhoff “Finding the True Free Press”

Multimedia & Print/Online

1st Place—Best Multimedia Storytelling: Joshua Tigges, Max Olsan, Cody Holtgrewe, Clayton Van Horn

1st Place—Best Headline Writing: Max Murphy

1st Place—Best Opinion Writing: Hunter Vasey

1st Place—Best Feature Photo: Joshua Tigges

2nd Place—Best News Photo: Joshua Tigges

3rd Place—Best News Reporting: Jaxon Van Pelt

3rd Place—Best Graphic/Illustration: Blake McMillan

Honorable Mention—Best Multimedia Storytelling: Joceline Medina, Rachel Hardy, Hannah Kramer

Honorable Mention—Best Multimedia Slideshow: Blake McMillan

Radio Station of the Year—KBVU

Pat Pisarik Student Journalist of the Year—Joshua Tigges, junior digital media major

(pictured above…Digital media majors and participants at Buena Vista University gathered following an awards ceremony in which certificates and plaques from the Iowa College Media Association were handed out. Included are, front row, from left: Carter Soyer, Austin West, Joshua Tigges, Joceline Medina. Back row from left: Joshua Woolcott, Colin Imhoff, Isaac Stone, Max Murphy, Jadyn Forbes, Hunter Vasey)


Local News

SLPD Adds New Program

The Storm Lake Police Department is announcing SLPD Partners in Blue, a voluntary registration program that provides them along with first