General Election is Today ; Area Contested Races and Voting Information

There are a few area contested races as part of today’s (Tues) general election.

Republican Megan Jones of Sioux Rapids is running against Democrat James Eliason of Storm Lake for the state representative seat in the newly-drawn House District 6, which includes much of Buena Vista and Clay Counties. Jones is a five-term incumbent who currently represents House District 2.

In the newly-drawn State Senate District 6, which includes Ida County, Republican Jason Schultz is facing Libertarian David Davis.

There is a contested race for Ida County Board of Supervisors in District 3, as Republican Devlun Whiteing is going against Todd Conover. The current supervisor in the district, Rhett Leonard, is not seeking reelection.

In Iowa’s 4th District for the U.S. House of Representatives, Republican Randy Feenstra is seeking a 2nd term, and is being challenged by Democrat Ryan Melton, as well as Liberty Caucus member Bryan Jack Holder.

Polls are open today (Tues) from 7am to 8pm. Storm Lake voting precincts include the BV County Courthouse, Public Library, St. Mark Lutheran Church, and Secondary Road Building. Find your voting precinct on the Secretary of State’s website.

Preregistered voters are required to provide an approved form of identification before voting at the polls. Voters who are not preregistered must also provide proof of residence. After the polls close, we’ll be providing election coverage tonight on KAYL and KKIA.



Local News