Area Residents Selected as Master Pork Producers

Iowa’s Master Pork Producers for 2022 were revealed on Wednesday of this week at the Iowa Pork Congress banquet in Des Moines.

The 81st class of Master Pork Producers include Mark Schleisman of Lake City, and Steve Doeden of Cleghorn.

A Master Pork Producer award is given to an individual or family for excellence in pork production, as measured by their pork production statistics, their commitment to “We Care” principles, and their contribution to the community. The “We Care” principles outline a pig farmer’s responsibility to uphold high standards for animal well-being, food safety, the environment, and support of their local community.

The Iowa Pork Producers Association started the Master Pork Producer Award program in 1942. Since then, a total of over 15-hundred farming businesses have been named Master Pork Producers.