Sioux Rapids Firefighter Receives Iowa Firefighter of the Year Award

A member of the Sioux Rapids Fire Department has been named the state’s 2023 Firefighter Of The Year by the Iowa Firefighters Association.

Dennis Williams was recognized during the department’s business meeting Wednesday night…(audio clip below :14 )

Iowa Firefighters Association President Chuck Raska presented the award to Williams, who has been a Sioux Rapids firefighter for the last 35 years…(audio clip below :18 )

Williams says he didn’t anticipate being a firefighter as long as he has…(audio clip below :24 )

Personnel from the Storm Lake, Albert City, Webb, and Marathon fire departments were on hand for the award presentation, along with Buena Vista County Sheriff Kory Elston and BV County deputies, as well as BV Emergency Management Coordinator Aimee Barritt.



Local News