main news story
Area Counties Among Those Named as State Disaster Areas

December 16, 2021 1:12pm

Governor Kim Reynolds has now declared 49 Iowa counties state disaster areas as a result of Wednesday's storm.

Disaster declaration counties include Buena Vista, Cherokee, Calhoun, Ida, Sac, and O'Brien.  Pocahontas and Palo Alto were added to the list Thursday evening.

The governor's disaster declaration releases state resources, like D-O-T dump trucks, to assist with clean-up and low income Iowans may apply for disaster aid to cover expenses like ruined food and damaged appliances. Reynolds says the storm could be Iowa's second derecho in 16 months.

Reynolds says while damage assessments are still underway, she would be surprised if Iowa would qualify for a presidential disaster declaration. That's because storm damage must be significant and widespread to qualify for that federal assistance.