main news story
St. Mary's Presented with Chapman Catt Award for Second Consecutive Year

May 12, 2021 7:41pm

Iowa Secretary of State Paul Pate today (Wed) presented Storm Lake St. Mary's High School with the Carrie Chapman Catt award.

Its the second year in a row that St. Mary's received the award for registering 100-percent of eligible students to vote. Every school in Iowa receives the award if they register at least 90-percent of eligible students to vote.  A total of 18 Iowa schools registered at least 90-percent of eligible students to vote during this past school year. 

The Carrie Chapman Catt award is named after the Iowan who was a national leader in the women's suffrage movement. Schools that register 50 and 70-percent of eligible students also receive standard recognition.

Buena Vista County Auditor Sue Lloyd was on hand for the award presentation.

"St. Mary's High School is enthusiastic and proud of its students for their commitment to eagerly fulfill the civic duties in our community, state, and nation. We give great thanks to the Secretary of State's Office for collaborating, and being helpful with encouraging such an important duty in our American society with our younger generations," said Krogman, Social Studies teacher at St. Mary's High School.