main news story
Buena Vista and Nearby Counties Designated as Natural Disaster Areas

September 19, 2020 10:12am

Ten Iowa counties including Buena Vista, Ida, and Pocahontas have been designated as primary natural disaster areas by the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

Producers in those counties who suffered losses caused by the recent drought may be eligible for USDA Farm Service Agency emergency loans.

Producers in contiguous counties including Calhoun, Cherokee, Clay, O'Brien, Palo Alto, and Sac are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or the refinance of certain debts.

The deadline to apply is May 10th of 2021. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.