main news story
SLSM Receives Carrie Chapman Catt Award

May 08, 2020 9:52am

Storm Lake St. Mary’s High School is the recipient of the Carrie Chapman Catt Award.

The Carrie Chapman Catt Award is named after the Iowan who was a national leader in the women’s suffrage movement. Storm Lake St. Mary High School received the award due to 90-percent of eligible students that registered to vote.

The award honors Catt’s commitment to gaining women’s suffrage for an entirely new generation of Americans to lawfully participate in the electoral process.

St. Mary’s high school social studies teacher, Kate Swanson states, "While I have always explained the importance of voter registration to our seniors, I appreciated the encouragement by the office of Iowa's Secretary of State to actually facilitate registration in school with both our seniors and eligible juniors.  I believe the sooner we have teenagers considering their role in this important civic duty, the greater the likelihood they will act on it within their communities."