Presidential Disaster Declaration Approved for Area Counties

Governor Reynolds has announced that President Biden has approved Iowa’s request for a Major Disaster Declaration for counties where significant damage was sustained from severe storms, flooding, straight-line winds, and tornadoes that occurred starting in the middle of this month.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency and the U.S. Small Business Administration are now authorized to provide assistance to Clay, Emmet, Lyon, Plymouth, and Sioux counties. Residents in those counties can now apply for FEMA’s Individual Assistance Program which provides disaster-affected homeowners, renters, and businesses with programs and services to maximize recovery, including assistance with housing, personal property replacement, medical expenses, and legal services. The governor will continue to request additional counties as more information is collected.

Individuals and business owners who sustained losses in the designated areas can begin applying for assistance by calling 1-800-621-3362. The helpline operates from 7am to 10pm seven days a week. Go to to apply for assistance online, receive additional disaster assistance information, and download applications.

The FEMA Public Assistance Program has been activated for counties including Buena Vista, Clay, and O’Brien. The program provides funding for emergency work such as debris removal and emergency protective measures.