More Counties Approved for Public Assistance Under Presidential Major Disaster Declaration from May

28 additional Iowa counties, including a few in the area, have been approved for a Presidential Major Disaster Declaration due to significant damage caused by tornadoes, severe storms, and widespread flooding between May 20th and May 31st.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency Public Assistance Program has been activated for counties including Buena Vista, Calhoun, Cherokee, and Clay. The additional counties have been approved for funding for emergency work such as debris removal and emergency protective measures.

Iowa was approved for another Presidential Disaster Declaration on Monday in response to flooding in northwest Iowa.