Governor Requests Expedited Presidential Disaster Declaration for Severe Storms and Widespread Flooding

Governor Reynolds has requested an expedited Presidential Disaster Declaration for Iowa counties where significant damage was sustained from severe storms and widespread flooding that started at the end of last week.

The letter requests activation of the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s Individual Assistance Program and U.S. Small Business Administration disaster loans for nine counties which include Buena Vista, Clay, Dickinson, Emmet, Lyon, O’Brien, Osceola, Plymouth, and Sioux.

The letter also requests the activation of FEMA’s Public Assistance Program for 22 counties including Buena Vista, Cherokee, Clay, O’Brien, Palo Alto, and Pocahontas.

The governor has also requested funding to conduct hazard mitigation activities for the entire state.