Aurelia Resident Included in Latest Class of Master Pork Producers

Iowa’s Master Pork Producers for 2023 were announced along with other award winners Wednesday night at the Iowa Pork Congress banquet in Des Moines.

The Iowa Pork Producers Association’s 82nd class of Master Pork Producers includes Aaron Hinkeldey of Aurelia. Over 15 hundred Iowa pig farming businesses and individuals have been named Master Pork Producers since the program started.

Dennis and Lori Heemstra received the Iowa Environmental Steward Award. The Heemstra’s own a 33 hundred head-to-wean-to-finish site in O’Brien County. They work with an agronomist to implement various practices, including reduced tillage to limit soil disturbance. The Heemstra’s were named Master Pork Producers in 2014.

The Master Pork Awards Program Selection Committee is made up of staff from the ISU Extension Service, Iowa Pork Industry Center at Iowa State, and Iowa Pork Producers Association. Award winners represent the diversity of Iowa’s pig farms and the people who support pork producers. They are nominated by their peers and neighbors.

Nominations for the 2024 Master Pork Program awards will open in May.


Local News