Area Residents, Hospital, Receiving Governor’s Volunteer Awards

Several area residents and an area hospital will be recognized as part of the 2024 Governor’s Volunteer Awards event.

Chance Downs and Lea Pederson, both of Storm Lake, and Marjorie Sands of Sac City, will be among those honored during the event next Tuesday, June 25th at 2pm at the Ankeny High School. Horn Memorial Hospital of Ida Grove will also be recognized. Horn is among the Length of Service Group Winners. LeAnn Olhausen of Alta is among the Length of Service Individual Winners, and will be honored for ten years of volunteer service.

Governor Reynolds will recognize individuals and groups during the special ceremony. More than 400 awards are being presented this year. Over 85 communities in Iowa were served by this year’s honorees.

The Governor’s Volunteer Awards program, coordinated by Volunteer Iowa, a program within the Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, is now in its 40th year. The program provides an easy way for Iowa nonprofits, charitable organizations, and government entities to honor their volunteers with a prestigious, state-level award.