Area Counties Able to Use CRP Acres for Emergency Haying, Grazing

Several area counties have been authorized to use Conservation Reserve Program acres for emergency haying or grazing for the 2022 fiscal year.

Those counties include Buena Vista, Clay, Ida, Palo Alto, Pocahontas, and Sac. Six other counties have been given emergency haying or grazing authorization with some restrictions, including Cherokee, O’Brien, Monona, Plymouth, Sioux, and Woodbury.

Participants need to get approved from their local Farm Service Agency office. The designations were made due to ongoing drought conditions in the affected counties.